Mad HD vids coming at ya

I am pretty excited about the new camcorder I got last weekend.  There was a new Circuit City that opened up near the house so we thought we’d go check it out.  I’ve been looking at camcorders for a few weeks now that the babies are on the way and wanted to check out the size comparisons of the hard drive based models to the flash based models.  When we got there, they were offering all products tax free AND 10% off.  So I looked around and decided that I just didn’t think any of them were priced any cheaper than I could get online, but was satisfied that I’d made my mind up about wanting a flash only based model.  And unfortunately they didn’t have the Canon model I was interested in.

So in the spirit of fun, we decided to go across the street to Best Buy and see what they had cooking.  They had the Canon HG10 out, but the battery was ripped off so I couldn’t turn it on to play with it.  But they had the competitive Sony model out as well and it looked pretty slick.  Touch-screen viewing panel, no internal memory or hard drive or tapes needed – this records directly to Memory Stick.  Michael (my brother-in-law) was with me and was instigating to the fullest, so he was negotiating with the Best Buy dude.  They ended up matching the price Circuit City had (for a lower end model) + tax free + 10% off.  So I pulled the trigger and haven’t looked back.  It seems to be a great camera – I love the touchscreen menus and the fact that I don’t have to worry about tapes anymore.  The included memory stick only tapes about 1 hour of HD video, so I’ll probably need another card sometime soon.  It’s hard to imaging that 16GB and 32GB cards are now available.  All I’ll need now is a MacBook with a Blu-Ray burner and I’ll be set!

Sony HDR-CX12

I’ve also completed physical therapy on my ankle and it’s been feeling pretty good.  We had our final indoor soccer game of the season last night and squeeked out a 4-3 win.  I still have to use tape, but it’s definitely holding up well.  Now I just need to practice a little for the 4v4 tournament coming up in San Jose in 2 weeks.  That is going to be a blast.

soccer fanatic, techie, gadget lover, intel consumer digital marketing for my day job. excited about smart TV's and mobile computing.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in general, soccer

Leave a comment

August 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.