DIY: GE dual water inlet valve kit replacement

Here’s yet another DIY project to help save you some labor charges on failing home appliances. 

Problem: refrigerator is leaking from the back of the unit

Fix: there is something wrong with either the water line or the valve.  In my case, I could see water leaking from the blue cover on the valve kit itself.  I removed the electrical plugs that were attached to the kit, pulled the quick release plugs on the tubes and unscrewed the copper water line into the valve.  I played around with it for a bit, but realized the kit needed to be replaced.  Tip: don’t forget to turn off the water supply before you start unplugging and unscrewing tubes.

Time required: removal – 10 minutes, replacement – 5 minutes

Thanks to Trent, he pointed me to Repair Clinic and found the exact part I needed.

dual water inlet valve kit

dual water inlet valve kit

soccer fanatic, techie, gadget lover, intel consumer digital marketing for my day job. excited about smart TV's and mobile computing.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in diy, general
2 comments on “DIY: GE dual water inlet valve kit replacement
  1. welshwiz says:

    Interesting to read since I have a similar problem with my whirlpool ref – side/side. Did you have problem with the quick connections. I can’t figure out how they come apart. Do you pull. screw, twist ???
    I need to take it off and replace with a new part. Thanks

  2. Mike says:

    For the quick connections, you actually push them in while pulling the hose out. So you have to use one hand to push and the other to pull.

Leave a comment

November 2008
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.