DIY: cabin air filter for your 4Runner

I took my truck into the dealer this weekend for a 15k mile service.  As usual, they tried to sell me on replacing my air filters – a charge of $70 at Folsom Lake Toyota.  I proceeded to tell them to take a hike and went to pick up my truck.  I happened to be out at Walmart with Kari and decided to pick up some air filters for the house and got a replacement filter for under the hood too (for $15).  They didn’t have the cabin filter available, so I came home to Google where I could find that.  I was amazed to see a generic cabin filter going for $30-40!

So I hopped on t4r.org and did a little research.  Thanks to that trusty site, I was able to make my own cabin filter from a Filtrete home air filter at a fraction of the cost.  The filtrete filters are $8, and I can make about 4 replacement cabin filters.  Not bad compared to $40 at Napa Auto Parts.

soccer fanatic, techie, gadget lover, intel consumer digital marketing for my day job. excited about smart TV's and mobile computing.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in diy, general
2 comments on “DIY: cabin air filter for your 4Runner
  1. Robbie says:

    You’re like MacGyver

  2. Jack says:

    But with fewer explosions.

Leave a comment

November 2008
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.